Dear Diary #5 – Truth and Lies

★ Back to “Dear Diary Entries“★
★ Back to “Writing Database“★

I see your lying eyes and raise you a derisive tongue.

You know, there’s a reason I like the friends that I have: They tell the truth. They don’t beat around the bush when telling me something. They don’t think about what they’re going to say to me. They’re up front. Blunt.

Just like me.

I hate people who try to sugarcoat something. If you want to say something, say it. If you’re going to lie, be smart about it. And if you can’t be smart about it, don’t lie in the first place. It’s more than likely that lie is going to be found out eventually anyway, and you’ll end up looking like an ass.

A funny story in regards to that:

When I was working at SuperPetz, I was putting mice away in a container for a customer. There was a lady and her child nearby, and the little girl said something along the lines of, “Aw, is that going to be his pet?” Me never being one to skirt around the truth, and liking demented things, I said, “It’s snake food.” When I glanced up, the woman had wide eyes and was shaking her head at me. The little girl started to freak out, asking her mom if it was really going to get eaten, and her mom was telling her no, no, that’s not right, it’s not going to be food, it’s okay. I couldn’t help but roll my eyes.

How’s a mom gonna lie to her kid like that when the kid’s going to figure it out eventually anyway. “Wow, mom, thanks for lying to me that day!”

From that day forward, my coworkers would laugh and always bring up how evil I was, telling the girl the mouse was going to be food and having her freak.

Yeah, yeah, whatever. At least I didn’t lie!

★ Back to “Dear Diary Entries“★
★ Back to “Writing Database“★

Leave a Reply

