Dear Diary #4 – A penny for your thoughts

★ Back to “Dear Diary Entries“★
★ Back to “Writing Database“★

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything that’s been on my mind–and trust me, a lot of things have been on my mind. Before my thoughts bloat my brain, I figure I should do some writing and get it out of my head and into yours.

Recently a friend had told me how someone was having money problems, and how another person had offered them over a hundred dollars and they took it. My friend stated that it was wrong of her to just take the money like that, and I looked at him like he was crazy.

It’s weird how two people have to very different point of views on a subject.

Apparently my friend doesn’t believe it’s right for someone to take money from another person, even if they’re offering. Now, if someone offered me money, hell yeah I’m going to take it. No, I’m not stingy. But someone is offering their money for a reason. To help you out. They’re being kind. You can surely pay them back at a later point, right? That’s how I see things, at least. I mean, I did a fundraiser for once to get one of my own friends extra cash and gave it to her in an envelope while we were at Olive Garden. She ended up paying, despite my glaring objections.

I tried giving my friend a gift card once before that we got from work, since I don’t often go there to buy things. He was always talking about how much money he has to spend anyway, so I figured why not.

He declined.

I pushed.

He shoved.

Eventually he won and I awkwardly put the gift card away.

To me, it’s…I don’t want to say rude, but rather a let-down? Like you’re rejecting our kindness and it actually hurts. I felt a little stupid, a little disappointed, and, well, shunned, maybe? And this is actually one of the reasons I try not to show the nice side of me. I tend to be shut down more often than not.

I’m curious what other people think on the subject.

★ Back to “Dear Diary Entries“★
★ Back to “Writing Database“★

Leave a Reply

