Destro Lock Leveling

As of 6.0.3

I’ve never leveled a lock before, and normally people go with Demonology when they’re first leveling, I assume? Anyway, I’ve decided to play around with Destro. This kind of leveling guide won’t go into a huge amount of detail as far as questing and everything, but rather I’ll note on what kind of macros I use throughout the whole leveling process, as well as the talents and glyphs that I use. There’s a lot of stuff that I don’t know about this kind of class, so pardon anything that I may get wrong, as it’s all in my opinion of how I’m doing things. Everyone has their own way to go about stuff and yada yada yada.

Stats are below, as well as everything else.

Multistrike – Critical Strike – Mastery – Intellect – Versatility = Haste.

The below is a work in progress.

Level 1
You don’t have much to do here but use one attack and have your imp help you out. I use the macro below, and have in the trinket uses at the bottom even though you won’t be getting trinkets for a while. It’s just there so we don’t have to add them in later. I use the /targetenemy just so I can constantly randomly attack mobs near me.

Macro:

#showtooltip
/targetenemy [noharm][dead]
/cast Shadow Bolt
/use 13
/use 14

Level 3
You get Corruption at this level, and while you don’t have to use it, since mobs die pretty fast from your imp after you cast your first SB, I still put it in a macro so I can just cast that dot on multiple mobs to level faster.

Macro:

#showtooltip
/targetenemy [noharm][dead]
/castsequence reset=target Corruption, Shadow Bolt, Shadow Bolt, Shadow Bolt
/use 13
/use 14

Level 8
You get a Voidwalker pet at this point, which can keep aggro on mobs. If you use it, you’ll get a DPS loss, and if you pull a lot of mobs, the pet’s health will go down quite a bit. The macro doesn’t change any.

Level 9
You can have a Healthstone now! I keep a macro of it on a bar.

Macro:

#showtooltip
/use Healthstone
/cast Create Healthstone

Level 10
You’re an official Destruction warlock now! And in being that, the macro has changed. I keep Chaos Bolt on a separate keybind instead of placing it into the macro.

Macro:

#showtooltip
/targetenemy [noharm][dead]
/castsequence reset=target Corruption, Incinerate, Incinerate, Incinerate, Incinerate
/castsequence reset=0.3 Conflagrate
/use 13
/use 14

Level 12
We get Immolate here, and that’s going to be swapped with Corruption in the macro. Due to Immolate having a cast time, I also put in a /petattack to send my pet (Voidwalker) ahead of me.

Macro:

#showtooltip
/targetenemy [noharm][dead]
/castsequence reset=target Immolate, Incinerate, Incinerate, Incinerate, Incinerate
/castsequence reset=0.3 Conflagrate
/petattack
/use 13
/use 14

Level 15
You can now queue for dungeons, or just continue leveling through quests. If you happen to go into dungeons, please make sure you bring out your Imp, and not your Voidwalker. Also, when I queue for dungeons, I take the /targetenemy [noharm][dead] out of the macro so I don’t accidentally target a distant mob and pull another group.

Talent used: Soul Leech

Level 21
You can channel Rain of Fire at this level, which is helpful with large groups of mobs in dungeon groups and whatnot. Below is the AoE macro so far.

Macro:

#showtooltip
/castsequence reset=target Immolate, Rain of Fire, Rain of Fire, Rain of Fire
/petattack

Level 30
The talents at this level are all basically fear-based, so it depends on what you like, but I went with Mortal Coil, in case I get low in health, I can at least restore some of it.

Talent used: Mortal Coil

More to come.

So far, it seems like this spec is best for leveling via dungeons. Though it’s somewhat disappointing that mobs tend to die very fast and you can barely get over two spells off. Still viable for leveling via quests, of course, but your minions tend to die fairly quickly if you pull a lot at once.

Leave a Reply

